Goran Kajfeš Subtropic Arkestra - The Reason Why Vol. 1

Goran Kajfeš Subtropic Arkestra - The Reason Why Vol. 1
Goran Kajfeš  Subtropic Arkestra - The Reason Why Vol. 1
1723 mb
  • Musician:
    Goran Kajfeš
  • Album name:
    The Reason Why Vol. 1
  • Genre:
  • Short info:
    Label: Headspin Recordings ‎– Head 015
    Type: Vinyl, LP
    Country: Europe
    Date of released: 09 Feb 2013
    Category: Jazz
    Style: Fusion
  • Size:
    1723 megabytes

Download links

Goran Kajfeš - The Reason Why Vol. 1
MP3 version

21723 downloads at 32 mb/s

Goran Kajfeš - The Reason Why Vol. 1
FLAC version

2491 downloads at 39 mb/s

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Yakar Inceden Inceden
Composed By – Edip Akbayram
A2 Storstad
Composed By – Bo Hansson
A3 Desire Be, Desire Go
Composed By – Kevin Parker
A4 The Nodder
Composed By – Karl Jenkins
B1 Okwukwe Na Nchewube
Composed By – Celestine Ukwu
B2 Badidoom
Composed By – Christer Bothén
B3 Es War Enmal
Composed By – Dieter Moebius, Hans-Joachim Roedelius
B4 Karina
Composed By – Arthur Verocai

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Atlantis Studio
  • Mastered At – Bruno Mastering


  • Artwork By – Anna-Pi Lennstrand
  • Baritone Saxophone, Sopranino Saxophone, Flute, Piccolo Flute – Per "Ruskträsk" Johansson
  • Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – Andreas Söderström
  • Mastered By – Hoffe Stannow
  • Mixed By – Goran Kajfeš*, Janne Hansson
  • Organ – Jesper Nordenström
  • Organ, Electric Guitar – Robert Östlund
  • Recorded By – Janne Hansson
  • Tenor Saxophone, Alto Saxophone, Flute, Lyricon – Jonas Kullhammar
  • Trombone – Mats Äleklint
  • Trumpet, Cornet – Goran Kajfeš*


150g gatefold vinyl issue limited to 500 copies.

"Goran Kajfes Subtropic Arkestra reveals the DNA of X/Y on new studio album The Reason Why - Vol.1.

2011 Nordic Music Prize winner and his large jazz ensemble reimagine Turkish psych, Brazilian soul, German psychedelic electronica and progressive jazz/rock on the follow up to the hugely successful X/Y. In preparation for his fourth studio recording, trumpeter Goran Kajfes trawled his personal record collection to choose seven pieces of music that join the dots between the diverse array of influences in his music.

The Reason Why - Vol.1 sees Goran Kajfes’ Subtropic Arkestra reimagine such colourful music as the Turkish psych of Edip Akbayram, the soulful groove of Brazilian singer Arthur Verocai, the German psychedelic electronica of Cluster and the progressive jazz/rock of Soft Machine, Bo Hansson and Tame Impala, among others.

The Reason Why - Vol.1 is in many ways a direct extension of his ambitious X/Y project and acts as a tribute to Kajfes’ myriad inspirations and also as an attempt to push jazz away from the beaten track and into new territories.

Croatian-born (Sweden-raised) Kajfes is a tireless innovator and a key figure of contemporary Swedish culture. In addition to his work as a bandleader, sideman and producer, he has worked with film, theatre, art and dance. In 2012, he released X/Y, an ambitious two-part recording through which he expressed contrasting aspects of his musical personality. Described as "a total work of art" and awarded 5/5 by The Independent (UK), given 4/5 by MOJO (UK) and voted Best Album of 2012 by Rob Young (The Wire) in Artforum Magazine, X/Y earned Kajfes the prestigious Nordic Music Prize ahead of favourites Bjork and Lykke Li.

With a nod to Sun Ra legendary cosmic jazz ensemble, the 10-strong Subtropic Arkestra comprises the cream of the contemporary Swedish music scene with saxophonists Jonas Kullhammar and Per Johansson, guitarist Andreas Söderström (Ass, El Rojo Adios), bassist Johan Berthling (Fire!, Tape) and drummer Johan Holmegard (Dungen, The Amazing), Andreas Werllin (Wildbirds&Peacedrums, Tonbruket) among others."


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 320470 170342

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
Head 015 Goran Kajfeš* & Subtropic Arkestra Goran Kajfeš* & Subtropic Arkestra - The Reason Why Vol. 1 ‎(CD, Album) Headspin Recordings Head 015 Europe 2013


Free download links: